And no to the tyranny of the majority.

California has just struck down a homophobic and prejudice state law, and in thirty days will begin allowing gay couples the same right straight couples have enjoyed for centuries, the right to marry.

And no.  Churches, mosques and synagogues won’t be required to marry gay couples. Marriage doesn’t have to be a religious event. To those enlightened houses of worship that do marry gay couples, I say, “God bless you.” To those that don’t, I say, “Go back to your Kraft singles, pickup trucks and the World Wide Wrestling Federation.”

Don’t you feel sorry for dumb, rural people? God love ’em. If they were better educated and didn’t loose their virginity to a second cousin, they too might enjoy the finer things in life.

I was born in California, grew up in Texas and call New York City my adopted hometown. I’ve never been so proud of my birth state. As California goes, so goes the rest of the nation.

