Last night, Star TV finally aired The Academy Awards in Hong Kong. I already knew who won. I just wanted to see the show. Mostly, I was looking forward to Dustin Lance Black’s acceptance speech. Imagine my surprise when his speech was cut short.

Yes, I live in Hong Kong (technically China). Yes, the authorities might very well be monitoring my blog (Hola, Konichiwa and Hello guys!!!). Yes, I can see Mr. Black’s speech on youtube.  But that’s not the point.

Allow me my soapbox here, my “Lights Please” Linus moment in A Charlie Brown Christmas.

I am gay. I knew I was gay since I was a little boy–yes, gay children really do exist. Gay people are everywhere: China, North Korea, Iran, Singapore, Costa Rica, Hong Kong and America. Maybe our struggles in the Nordic countries and in Spain are mostly (somewhat) over. But we still have a way to go in the US and God help you if you live in India or Japan.

I moved to the other side of the world with my partner. We gamble in Macau together. We get annoyed with each other. We hold hands on a plane when we are excited about landing in a new city. We worry together. We stress about home visits (his Dad still does not want to meet me). We laugh uncontrollably. We shout when we’re angry. We wake up together. We are a couple. And one day, we will marry legally.

